Get presence from buddies

 

Now it’s also implemented the functionality that allows a user to see his contacts presence. At first week I’ve implemented only the Telepathy part of this methods and back then I didn’t comprehend that this information would come in the form of a NOTIFY SIP message. I also needed to use the SUBSCRIPTION mechanism properly so the presence server could send me the NOTIFY message.

To be able to create those messages was necessary a better understanding of resip/stack, resip/recon and resip/dum API’s.  Not that I master this libraries now, but at least I’m not totally lost anymore =)

Looking into this libraries I could see how much work was done by all of resiprocate contributors (and I imagine I don’t even saw the tip of the iceberg). There is so many features ready for use that now I think twice before start implementing something.

Since I didn’t find any reference explicitly showing the contact’s status in RFC3863 [1], I got this information by changing a contact presence (in a different machine logged in Jitsi [2]) and looking into the NOTIFY message received at resiprocate.

Follow some images about contact’s presence at Empathy:

 

status_Online
Online status

 

 

status_Offline
Offline status
status_Busy (DND)
Busy – DND status
status_Away
Away status
status_In a meeting
In a meeting status
status_Unknown
Unknow status

[1] https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc3863

[2] https://jitsi.org/

Leave a Reply

